Excellence in CLE Award Recipients

What is the Excellence in CLE Award?
This award honors those who have volunteered their time and shared their expertise with other lawyers and professionals across the state. They are all leading practitioners in their chosen area of practice, and have actively and passionately shared their knowledge through seminar presentations or by authoring publications.

The NJSBA and NJICLE are deeply appreciative of their contributions to the field of continuing legal education.

Who Was Alfred C. Clapp?
In his day, Alfred C. Clapp (1903 – 1988) was one of New Jersey’s foremost legal voices. His extensive legacy includes serving as Counsel to the New Jersey Legislature for the drafting of the 1944 State Constitution, and as a delegate to the New Jersey Constitutional Conventions in 1947 and 1966. Accordingly, NJICLE’s highest honor, the Alfred C. Clapp award for Excellence in Continuing Legal education, carries his name in honor of his tireless devotion to the New Jersey and the legal profession.

Alfred C. Clapp Award Recipients
2021 Christopher Placitella, Esq.
2020 Gianfranco Pietrafesa, Esq.
2019 David B. Rubin, Esq.
2018 n/a
2017 Shirely B. Whitenack, Esq.
2016 Bonnie C. Frost, Esq.
2015 Hon. Peter F. Bariso, Jr., A.J.S.C.
2014 Thomas J. Vesper, Esq.
2013 Michael Maggiano, Esq.
2012 Edward J. O”Donnell, Esq.
2011 Richard H. Greenberg, Esq.
2010 Wayne J. Positan, Esq.
2009 Glenn A. Henkel, J.D., LL.M., C.P.A.
2008 Mark Gruber, Esq.
2007 Martin M. Shenkman, Esq.
2006 Frank A. Louis, Esq.
2005 Hon. Jeff S. Masin
2004 Thomas D. Begley, Jr., Esq.
2003 Richard E. Brennan, Esq.
2002 Laurence J. Cutler, Esq.
2001 Anita J. Siegel, Esq.
2000 Gerald H. Baker, Esq.
1999 Philip G. Auerbach, Esq.
1998 Hugh M. Leonard, Esq.
1997 Lewis Goldshore, Esq.
1996 Lee M. Hymerling, Esq.
1995 Melvyn H. Bergstein, Esq.
1994 Albert L. Cohn, Esq.
1993 Hon. William A. Dreier, P.J.A.D. (Ret.)
1992 Gary N. Skoloff, Esq.
Distinguished Service Award Recipients
2021 Hon. Sohail Mohammed, P.J. Cr.
Robert J. Brass, Esq.
Crystal West Edwards, Esq.
Tracey Goldstein, Esq.
2020 Hon. Lisa James-Beavers, JSC
Anne S. Babineau, Esq.
John F. DeBartolo, Esq.
Robyn B. Gigl, Esq.
2019 Hon. Marie E. Lihotz, P.J.A.D. (ret.)
Hon. PedroJ.JimenezJr.,J.S.C.
Lawrence A. Friedman, Esq.
Steven W. Suflas, Esq.
2018 n/a
2017 Justice Anne M. Patterson
Paulette Brown, Esq.
Carol Johnston, Esq.
Steven K. Mignogna, Esq.
2016 Hon. Travis L. Francis, A.J.S.C.
Hon. Mary K. Costello, P.J.Cv.
Steven M. Richman, Esq.
Michael F. Schaff, Esq.
2015 Hon. Hany A. Mawla, P.J.F.P.
Arnold Shep Cohen, Esq.
Michael A. Ferrara, Jr., Esq.
Debra E. Guston, Esq.
2014 Hon. Lawrence M. Lawson (Ret.)
Lynda A. Bennett, Esq.
Brian J. Neary, Esq.
Lisa D. Taylor, Esq.
2013 Hon. Margaret Mary McVeigh, PJCh
Hon. Patricia B. Roe, PJFP
Kevin R. Gardner, Esq.
Jeffrey E. Gold, Esq.
2012 Hon. Robert A. Fall, JAD (Ret.)
John J. Miesowitz, Esq.
John L. Pritchard, Esq.
Sharon P. Margello, Esq.
2011 Hon. Ronald E. Bookbinder, AJSC
Hon. Renee Ricciardelli
James J. Ferrelli, Esq.
Bonnie C. Frost, Esq.
Thaddeus J. Hubert, III, Esq.
2010 Honorable Novalyn Winfield, USBJ
Bonnie Blume Goldsamt, Esq.
John P. Paone, Jr., Esq.
Carl D. Poplar, Esq.
2009 Hon. Paulette Sapp-Peterson, JAD
Stuart J. Lieberman, Esq.
Lynn Fontaine Newsome, Esq.
Alan L. Zegas, Esq.
2008 Hon. Rosemary Gambardella, USBJ
Hon. Peter F. Bariso, Jr., PJSC
Wayne J. Positan, Esq.
Joel L. Shoobe, Esq.
2007 Joel B. Korin, Esq.
Ira Meislik, Esq.
Shirley B. Whitenack, Esq.
2006 Hon. William H. Gindin (Ret.)
Gregory G. Diebold, Esq.
Robert E. Margulies, Esq.
Richard H. Steen, Esq.
2005 Holly C. Bakke, Esq.
Cary B. Cheifetz, Esq.
Jerome A. Deener, Esq.
2004 Hon. Robert W. Page
Michelle V. Perone, Esq.
Jeffrey A. Weiner, Esq.
James P. Yudes, Esq.
2003 Hon. Michael K. Diamond
Bruce E. Mantell, Esq.
Thomas J. Vesper, Esq.
2002 Hon. Isaiah Steinberg
Marilyn Askin, Esq.
Peggy Sheahan Knee, Esq.
Christine F. Li, Esq.
2001 Hon. John E. Keefe
Hon. Jack L. Lintner
Hon. Marina Corodemus
Arthur S. Horn, Esq.
David H. Dugan, III, Esq.
Robert J. Pinto, Esq. (Posthumously)
2000 Hon. Deanne M. Wilson
Sen. Robert J. Martin
1999 Hon. Thomas P. Zampino
Prof. Michael P. Ambrosio
Camille S. Andrews, Esq.
Karol Corbin Walker, Esq.
1998 Hon. Howard H. Kestin
Provost Roger Dennis
Prof. Elizabeth Defeis
Harold Kamens, Esq. (Posthumously)
1997 Hon. Katharine Sweeney Hayden
Dean Peter Simmons
Prof. Robert A. Diab<


Founded in 1899, the NJSBA is the largest organization of attorneys, judges and legal professionals in New Jersey. At the core of our mission is improving the lives of our members, advancing the rule of law and serving as the voice of the profession. With 85 sections and committees, the NJSBA allows attorneys to benefit from being part of the most wide-reaching legal association in the state, while still cultivating expertise and building networks within specialized practice areas.



The New Jersey State Bar Association is committed to promoting and fostering a diverse and inclusive bar association. The Association recognizes that the broad concept of diversity includes race, ethnicity, gender, gender identity, sexual orientation, religion, age and disability. The NJSBA fosters and promotes an inclusive environment that gives value to the unique contributions of diverse individuals and organizations in all aspects of the Association.

Learn More


The NJSBA Legal and  Government Affairs Department serves as the liaison between NJSBA members and the state’s three branches of government.

News and Press Publications

Learn more about the accomplishments of the Association, its members and events from regular news updates, press releases, and our award-winning magazine.



Read the comments, reports, resolutions and Board of Trustee news from the state’s largest organization of lawyers, judges and legal professionals.


Statements and Positions

The NJSBA is the voice of the profession and takes public positions on a range of issues with the legal community and government officials. It also takes positions on legislation and files friend-of-the-court briefs on matters that impact the profession. 

Photo Galleries

Check out photos from recent NJSBA events.

View Photo Albums


The New Jersey Law Center is located at 1 Constitution Sq, New Brunswick, NJ, 08901. Need directions to the Law Center? Click on the button below to get started right away.

Contact NJSBA

NJSBA Contact Us Form
If you're looking for an attorney, click here for help.

If you cannot afford an attorney and have a civil matter, click here for Legal Services of New Jersey.

Looking for information about a specific lawyer? Contact the Lawyer’s Fund for Client Protection at 855-533-3863.

Have a complaint about a lawyer? Visit the Office of Attorney Ethics website. Select “Attorney Discipline” from the navigation bar for discipline of attorneys.

Contact Info

One Constitution Square
New Brunswick, NJ 08901

9 a.m. to 5 p.m., Monday - Friday

Fax 732-249-2815

Email us

Book Store

Authoritative. Comprehensive. The Industry Standard.

NJICLE legal treatises and books are written for New Jersey attorneys, by New Jersey attorneys. Our comprehensive library of books and treatises form the State’s most inclusive series of regionally focused legal materials. With titles covering virtually every aspect of New Jersey legislation, NJICLE is proud to be the professional development resource for the legal community.

You do not have permission to view this form.